AALCO Logo

Asian-African Legal Consultative Organization (AALCO)

عن المنظمة


 

 
 

المنظمة الإستشارية القانونية الآسيوية – الإفريقية

 عن منظمة آلكو

 كتيب معلومات

A.   أصل

تأسست المنظمة الإستشارية القانونية الآسيوية – الإفريقية (آلكو)، التي كانت تعرف أصلياً باسم اللجنة الإستشارية القانونية الآسيوية (إيه آئي سي سي)،  في 15 نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 1956م. وهي تعد عبارة عن إحدى النتائج الملموسة لمؤتمر باندونغ التاريخي الذي عقد في إندونيسيا في أبريل/ نيسان 1955م. وتعتبر سبعة دول آسيوية وهي بورما (ميانمار حاليا)، وسيلان (سريلانكا حاليا) ، والهند، واندونيسيا، والعراق، واليابان، الجمهورية العربية المتحدة (جمهورية مصر العربية والجمهورية العربية السورية حالياً) الدول الأعضاء الأصليين فيها. ثم تم تغيير اسمها إلى اللجنة الإستشارية القانونية الآسيوية – الإفريقية في أبريل/نيسان 1958م لتشمل مشاركة البلدان الإفريقية. في دورتها الأربعين التي عقدت في المقر الرئيسي للجنة الإستشارية القانونية الآسيوية – الإفريقية ها الرئيسي في نيودلهي عام 2001م، تم تغيير اسمها إلى المنظمة الإستشارية القانونية الآسيوية – الإفريقية (آلكو). ويبدو أنه تغيير بسيط في التسمية ولكن له أهمية رمزية كبيرة تعكس مكانة المنظمة المتنامية والمكانة التي حصلت عليها بين أسرة المنظمات الدولية. 

B.   نظام أساسي وقواعد قانونية للمنظمة

أنشئت اللجنة الإستشارية القانونية الآسيوية – الإفريقية في بداية الأمر كلجنة غير دائمة لمدة خمسة سنوات. وتم تمديد تلك المدة في أربع مناسبات حتى عام 1981م، وفي دورتها التي عقدت في كولومبو، تقرر تأسيس اللجنة على أساس دائم. واقتضى ذلك القرار إعادة النظر في النظام الأساسي والقواعد القانونية، وتبنت النسخة المنقحة في عام 1987م و1989م على التوالي. نظراً لضرورة أن تكون الصكوك التأسيسية للمنظمة متماشية مع تغيير الزمن والآمال الجديدة وتطلعات أعضائها، منحت الدول الأعضاء في منظمة آلكو موافقتها بالتوافق على النص الجديد والمنقح من النظام الأساسي في الدورة الـ43 للمنظمة التي عقدت في مدينة بالي، جمهورية اندونيسيا، في شهر يونيو/ حزيران 2004م. ويتفق النص الجديد من النظام الأساسي مع الصكوك التأسيسية مع المنظمات الحكومية الدولية الأخرى ويجعلها في قدم المساواة معها. وبناء على ذلك، يتم تنقيح القواعد الدستورية أيضاً.

 

C.   دول أعضاء

يبلغ عدد الدول الأعضاء سبع وأربعين دولة وتضم معظم الدول الكبرى من قارة آسيا وإفريقيا حاليا. وهذه الدول هي: جمهورية مصر العربية؛ ومملكة البحرين؛ وبنغلاديش؛ وبروناي دارالسلام؛ والكاميرون؛ وقبرص؛ وجمهورية كوريا الشعبية الديمقراطية؛ وغامبيا؛ وغانا؛ والهند؛ واندونيسيا؛ والعراق؛ وجمهورية إيران الإسلامية؛ واليابان؛ والأردن؛ وكينيا؛ ودولة الكويت؛ ولبنان؛ وليبيا؛ وماليزيا؛ وموريشيوس؛ ومنغوليا؛ وميانمار؛ ونيبال؛ ونيجيريا؛ وسلطنة عمان؛ وباكستان؛ وجمهورية الصين الشعبية؛ ودولة قطر؛ وجمهورية كوريا؛ والمملكة العربية السعودية؛ والسنغال؛ وسيراليون؛ وسنغافورة؛ والصومال؛ وجنوب أفريقيا؛ وسريلانكا؛ ودولة فلسطين؛ والسودان؛ والجمهورية العربية السورية؛ وتنزانيا؛ وتايلندا؛ وتركيا؛ وأوغندا؛ والإمارات العربية المتحدة، وجمهورية فيتنام الاشتراكية والجمهورية اليمنية.

 

D.   إجراءات العضوية

 

عضوية المنظمة مفتوحة لجميع الدول الآسيوية والإفريقية التي ترغب في المشاركة في المنظمة وفقا لنظامها الأساسي والقواعد القانونية (مادة رقم 2(3) من النظام الأساسي. وإذا كان لدى أية دولة ترغب في الحصول على العضوية في المنظمة، فعليها أن تقوم بتوجيه رسالة خطية إلى الأمين العام لمنظمة آلكو والتي تفيد عن رغبتها في الانضمام إلى المنظمة وتذكر موافقتها بالنظام الأساسي والقواعد القانونية. وبعد استلام الرسالة يتم تعميمها بين الحكومات الأعضاء مع طلب إحالة تعليقاتها في غضون ستة أسابيع. وسيتم إعلان عضويتها في المنظمة في حال عدم تلقي أية اعتراضات لا تقل عن ثلث مجموع الدول الأعضاء في المنظمة.

 

E.   أهداف وأغراض

أهداف وأغراض المنظمة كما تنص عليها المادة رقم 1 من النظام الأساسي هي:

 

·        تقديم الخدمة كهيئة استشارية للدول الأعضاء في المنظمة في مجال القانون وكمنتدى للتعاون الآسيوي والإفريقي في المسائل القانونية ذات الاهتمام المشترك.

·        بحث وتداول القضايا المتعلقة بالقانون الدولي، التي قد يتم إحالتها إلى المنظمة من قبل الدول الأعضاء وتقديم توصياتها إلى الحكومات حسب مقتضى الضرورة.

·        تبادل الآراء والخبرات والمعلومات حول القضايا ذات الاهتمام المشترك التي تترتب عليها آثار قانونية، وتقديم توصيات بذلك إذا اقتضت الضرورة.

·        إحالة آراء المنظمة حول مسائل القانون الدولي المحالة إليها، بموافقة حكومات الدول الأعضاء، إلى الأمم المتحدة والمؤسسات الأخرى والمنظمات الدولية.

·        دراسة الموضوعات التي تكون قيد النظر من قبل لجنة القانون الدولي، وإحالة آراء المنظمة إلى اللجنة، والنظر في تقارير اللجنة وتقديم توصيات في هذا الشأن إلى الدول الأعضاء، حسب مقتضى الضرورة، و.

·         القيام بمثل الأنشطة، بموافقة أو بطلب من الدول الأعضاء، حسبما تراها مناسبة لتحقييق وظائف وأغراض المنظمة

 

وأهداف وأغراض المنظمة الأساسية المذكورة أعلاه تؤثر بالطريقة التي كانت تعتبر بها المواضيع من قبل المنظمة وتشكل برامج المنظمة على مر السنين. هناك ثلاثة طرق يتم بواسطتها وضع قضية على برنامج عمل منظمة آلكو: (إيه) بإشارة من إحدى الدول الأعضاء؛ (بي) بمبادرة من قبل الأمين العام تلقائياً؛ و(سي) من خلال متابعة أعمال لجنة القانون الدولي. ومن أجل تحقيق وأهداف وأغراض المنظمة الأساسية تقوم الأمانة العامة باعداد دراسات حول المواضيع، التي تشكل المواد الأساسية للمداولات في الداورات السنوية.

 

F.    دورات سنوية للمنظمة

تمثل الدورة السنوية لمنظمة آلكو عنصراً هاماً. (مادة رقم 4 من النظام الأساسي). يتم استضافة الدورة السنوية من قبل إحدى الدول الأعضاء في منظمة آلكو حسب العادة، وذلك على أساس التناوب بين المجموعتين الإقليميتين، آسيا وأفريقيا، حتى الإمكان. ويحضر الممثلون رفيعو المستوى من قبل حكومات الدول الأعضاء في المنظمة، هذه الدورات السنوية. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يشارك العديد من وفود المراقبين الذين يمثلون الدول غير الأعضاء والمنظمات الدولية من جميع أنحاء العالم في المداولات. وقد تمكنت المنظمة على إقامة روابط وثيقة مع محكمة العدل الدولية ولجنة القانون الدولي على مر سنين وأصبح من إحدى الممارسات العادية مشاركة بعض القضاة من محكمة العدل الدولية وأعضاء لجنة القانون الدولي في الدورات السنوية للمنظمة بكل نشاط. وانعقدت خمس وخمسين دورةً سنوية حتى الآن.

وكانت المنظمة تدرس مسائل القانون الدولي، التي يتم تداولها في الأمم المتحدة لاسيما لجنة القانون الدولي واللجنة السادسة للجمعية العامة.

وتم تغطية العديد من المواضيع على مر السنين وهي: (المواضيع  المكتوب بخط مائل مدرجة في برنامج العمل الحالي للمنظمة)

(i)                موضوعات على جدول أعمال لجنة القانون الدولي

(ii)             قانون التجارة والإقتصاد الدولي والمسائل ذات الصلة

·        حصانات الدول فيما يتصل بالعمليات التجارية

·        إعداد العقود النموذجية من أجل إستخدامها في المعاملات السلعية الدولية

·        اتفاقيات ثنائية نموذجية حول تشجيع وحماية الاستثمارات

·        مبادي توجيهية قانونية لأجل برامج الخصخصة

·        تسوية المنازعات التجارية الدولية

·        التجارة الإلكترونية

·        منظمة التجارة العالمية كاتفاق وقواعد السلوك في التجارة العالمية

·        أشكال التعبير الفولكلوري وحمايته الدولية

·        أعمال منظمة UNCITRAL والمنظمات الدولية الأخرى في مجال قانون التجارة الدولية

 

(iii)           قانون المعاهدات

·        اتفاقية فيينا لقانون المعاهدات، عام 1969م

·        اتفاقية فيينا بشأن خلافة الدول في المعاهدات، عام 1978م

·        الأعمال المتعلقة بالمعاهدات بين الدول والمنظمات الدولية، عام 1986م

 

(iv)           قانون دبلوماسي

·        اتفاقية فيينا حول العلاقات الدبلوماسية، عام 1961م

·        اتفاقية فيينا حول العلاقات القنصلية،

·        اتفاقية حول البعثة الخاصة، عام 1969م

·        اتفاقية فيينا حول تمثيل الدول في علاقاتها مع المنظمات الدولية ذات الطابع العالمي، عام 1975م

 

(v)             محيطات وقانون البحار

·        متابعة التطورات المتعلقة بالمحيطات وقانون البحار

·        السلطة الدولية لقاع البحار

·        المحكمة الدولية لقانون البحار

·        لجنة حدود الجرف القاري

 

(vi)           حقوق الإنسان، واللاجئون والقانون الإنساني الدولي

·        وضع ومعاملة اللاجئين

·        مبادئ بانكوك حول وضع ومعاملة اللاجئين

·        انتهاكات القانون الدولي في فلسطين وفي الأراضي المحتلة من قبل إسرائيل وغيرها من المسائل القانونية الدولية ذات الصلة بقضية فلسطين

·        المؤتمر العالمي حول حقوق الإنسان، فيينا، عام 1993م

·        حقوق الإنسان في الإسلام

·        الحماية القانونية للعمال المهاجرين

·        اتفاقيات جنيف لعام 1949م والبروتوكول الإضافي للإتفاقيات

·        إقامة التعاون ضد الإتجار بالنساء والأطفال

 

(vii)        البيئة والتنمية المستدامة

·        مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة المعني بالبيئة والتنمية، عام 1992م

·        القمة العالمية حول التنمية المستدامة، عام 2002م

·        اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغيير المناخ، عام 1992م

·        اتفاقية التنوع البيولوجي، عام 1992م

·        اتفاقية مكافحة التصحر، عام 1994م

 

(viii)      القانون الجنائي الدولي

·        المحكمة الجنائية الدولية: التطورات الأخيرة

·        الفساد الدولي

·        الجريمة المنظمة عبر الوطنية

·        التطرف العنيف والإرهاب (الجوانب القانونية)

 

(ix)          المواضيع الأخرى

·         عقد الأمم المتحدة للقانون الدولي

·        وضع ومعاملة الأجانب

·        الجنسية المزدوجة أو المتعددة

·        شرعية التجارب النووية

·        التعاون المتبادل بشأن تقديم المساعدة القضائية

·        تطبيق التشريعات الوطنية خارج الحدود: العقوبات المفروضة ضد أطراف ثالثة

·        حصانة الولاية القضائية للدول وممتلكاتها

·        القانون الدولي في الفضاء السيبراني 

G.  المقر الرئيسي الدائم لمنظمة آلكو

وفقا لاتفاقية المقر الرئيسي بين حكومة الهند ومنظمة آلكو الموقعة في 26 أبريل/ نيسان 2000، تكون مدينة نيودلهي المقر الرئيسي الدائم لمنظمة آلكو (مادة رقم 2(1) من النظام الأساسي). يقع المقر الرئيسي دبلوماتيك إنكليف، تشاناكابوري بنيودلهي.

 

H.   الأمانة العامة

تقع الأمانة العامة للمنظمة في مقرها الدائم بنيودلهي والتي يرأسها الأمين العام المنتخب (مادة رقم 3 من النظام الأساسي). وينتمي الأمين العام الحالي بروفيسور د. كينيدي غاستورن إلى تنزانيا. نواب الأمين العام والأمناء العامون المساعدون هم من كبار ضباط حكومات الدول الأعضاء الذين تم تعيينهم لمساعدة الأمين العام. وأوفدت حكومتي جمهورية الصين الشعبية، وجمهورية إيران الإسلامية واليابان مسؤوليها الكبار في الأمانة العامة حالياً. ويضم الموظفون الدائمون في الأمانة العامة مسؤولين في الفئات المهنية والإدارية. وتحتفظ المنظمة البعثات المراقبة الدائمة لدى الأمم المتحدة في كل من نيويورك وفيينا.

 

I.       التعاون مع الأمم المتحدة، ووكالاتها والمنظمات الدولية الأخرى

 

تم توسيع نطاق أنشطة منظمة آلكو من حين إلى حين لمواكبة حاجات ومتطلبات الحكومات الأعضاء فيها، ولاسيما ذلك في مجالات مسائل قانون التجارة الدولي والعلاقات الإقتصادية. كما قامت منظمة آلكو، بصفتها المنظمة الحكومية الدولية الوحيدة التي تمثل قارتي آسيا وأفريقيا، أيضا بأنشطتها لاستكمال أعمال الأمم المتحدة في العديد من المجالات. ونظراً لمكانة المنظمة المتنامية ومهامها، قررت الجمعية العامة بموجب قرار تم اعتماده في دورتها الخامسة والثلاثين عام 1980م، منح منظمة آلكو صفة المراقب الدائم في الأمم المتحدة. وعقب ذلك، يتم وضع بندٍ حول "التعاون بين الأمم المتحدة والمنظمة الإستشارية القانونية الآسيوية - الإفريقية" كل سنتين على جدول أعمال الجمعية العامة. وأقامت المنظمة أيضاً العلاقات الوثيقة مع الأمم المتحدة، ووكالاتها وبعض المنظمات الحكومية الدولية، وأبرمت اتفاقيات التعاون الرسمية مع العديد منها (المادة رقم 6 من النظام الأساسي). وهي كما يلي: الأمم المتحدة، والمنظمة البحرية الدولية، وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة، ومنظمة الأمم المتحدة للتنمية الصناعية، والوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية، والمنظمة العالمية للملكية الفكرية، والمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئيين، وجامعة الأمم المتحدة، ومعهد الأمم المتحدة للتدريب والبحوث، ومكتب المفوضية السامية  للأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان، والمنظمة الدولية للهجرة، اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر، وجامعة الدول العربية، وأمانة الكومنولث، ومجلس أوروبا ومنظمة الوحدة الأفريقية الذي يعرف باسم الإتحاد الإفريقي حالياً. وتنص هذه الاتفاقيات على التشاور المتبادل، وتبادل الوثائق والتمثيل وتنظيم الاجتماعات المشتركة.

ويمكن التأكيد على أن هذه اتفاقيات التعاون توفر أساسا مفيدا لتنظيم الاجتماعات المشتركة والندوات حول الموضوعات  ذات الاهتمام المشترك مع تلك المنظمات. وأنها توفر الأموال اللازمة لمشاركة الأشخاص ذوي الخبرة والخبراء، الذين يقومون بإثراء المداولات في اجتماعات منظمة آلكو.

كل عام يعقد اجتماع للمستشارين القانونيين لمنظمة آلكو في نيويورك، خلال دورة الجمعية العامة التابعة للأمم المتحدة. ويحضر المستشارون القانونيون من الدول غير الأعضاء والممثلون عن الأمم المتحدة ووكالاتها هذا الاجتماع. 

J.    موارد مالية

يتم تلبية المتطلبات المالية للمنظمة من ثلاثة مصادر أساسياً، هي: (i) الميزانية السنوية التي تساهم بها جميع الدول الأعضاء، (ii) المساهمات الطوعية، والتي قد تقدمها أية دولة من الأعضاء بما فيها مساهمة في شكل إيفاد الضباط، و (iii) الميزانية الخاصة للاغراض المحددة مثل الصندوق العربي. تلتزم جميع الدول الأعضاء بتقديم المساهمة في الميزانية السنوية. ويتم تحديد حصة مساهمة جيمع الأعضاء على أساس مقياس متفق عليه وذلك وفقاً للوضع الاقتصادي لكل دولة من الدول الأعضاء. وتقدم الدول الأعضاء من البلدان الناطقة بالعربية مساهمة إضافية أيضا في ميزانية اللغة العربية، والتي تصرف في ترجمة الوثائق الرسمية إلى اللغة العربية ولأجل توفير الترجمة الفورية خلال الدورة السنوية. وتأتي جيمع المساهمات الأخرى ضمن المساهمة التطوعية.

 

K.   مراكز إقليمية للتحكيم لمنظمة آلكو

كان من إحدى الإنجازات الرئيسية لمنظمة آلكو في برنامجها ما يتعلق بالمجال الإقتصادي هو إطلاق مشروعها المتكامل لتسوية المنازعات في العمليات الإقتصادية والتجارية في عام 1978م. ووفقا لهذا المشروع، فقد تقرر إنشاء مراكز إقليمية للتحكيم تحت رعاية منظمة آلكو، والتي من شأنها أن تروج التحكيم التجاري الدولي في المناطق الآسيوية والإفريقية وتجري عملية التحكيم الدولي في ظل هذه المراكز.

وقد تم إنشاء خمسة مراكز من هذا القبيل حتى الآن، والتي تقع في القاهرة (جمهورية مصر العربية)، وكوالالمبور (ماليزيا)، ولاغوس (نيجيريا)، وطهران (جمهورية إيران الإسلامية) ونيروبي (كينيا). وتعترف الحكومات المستضيفة المعنية، بوضع مستقل للمراكز مثل منظمة دولية، وتمنحها الامتيازات والحصانات.

تقوم منظمة آلكو بتوفير خبراتها ومساعدتها للدول الأعضاء في تعيين المحكمين، وغيرها من المسائل ذات الصلة بسير التحكيم. وكما توفر هذه المراكز خدمة التدريب للمحكمين. ويقدم مدراء المراكز تقاريرهم عن أعمال مراكزهم في الدورات السنوية.

 

L.    تسهيلات التدريب

توفر الأمانة العامة للمنظمة تسهيلات تدريب المسؤوليين من الدول الأعضاء الممارسين في مسائل القانون الدولي. يمكن أن يكون هذا قصير الأجل من خلال الانضمام إلى الأمانة العامة أو المشاركة في الدورة التدريبية التي تنظمها الأمانة العامة. وفي الدورة الحادية والأربعين لمنظمة آلكو التي عقدت في أبوجا في يوليو/تموز 2002م، فقد تقرر إعادة تسمية وحدة جمع البيانات في الأمانة العامة وتحويلها إلى مركز للبحوث والتدريب. وتشمل أنشطة المركز الى جانب البحث في مسائل القانون الدولي، والتوسع في تسهيلات التدريب في الأمانة العامة بهدف نشر المعلومات عن أنشطتها والتطورات الأخيرة في القانون الدولي، وقد شهد موقع منظمة آلكو تحسناً ملموساً. وتم تحميل جميع الوثائق الهامة وتقارير منظمة آكلو على موقعها: http://www.aalco.int (متاح باللغتين الإنجليزية والعربية).

 

M.  مساعدة قانونية

تلتزم منظمة آلكو بتقديم المساعدة القانونية للدول الأعضاء فيها في صياغة التشريعات النموذجية أو مشروع الدستور أو الاتفاقيات الثنائية بناء على طلب أية دولة من الدول الأعضاء.

 

N.   منشورات

تنشر الأمانة العامة تقارير الدورات السنوية لمنظمة آلكو والندوات والاجتماعات الأخرى التي تعقد تحت رعايتها من حين إلى حين. تم نشر أول الكتاب السنوي لمنظمة آلكو في عام 2004م في شكل مختلف. وأنه يحتفظ التواصل مع الطبعات السابقة من التقارير.

بهدف تقديم المساهمة في معرفة وفهم القانون الدولي بشكل أفضل، والتي يمكن أن تؤثر على حوار مناقشات السياسة العالمية، ما زالت منظمة آلكو تنشر "النشرة الفصلية" منذ عام 1976م. في عام 1997م تم تغيير اسمها وتواترها الدوري إلى "نشرة منظمة آلكو" وذلك اصدرت مرتين سنوياً، حتى عام 2001م. وارتأت الأمانة العامة أن تلك النشرة في ضرورة  إعادة تشكيل هيكلها شكلاً طرازاً. وبعد إجراء مناقشات متأنية ودراسة، صدرت النشرة بالاصلاح الشامل بالعنوان الجديد، وذلك؛ "النشرة الفصلية لمنظمة آلكو" مع المجلد رقم 1، والعدد رقم 1 المؤرخة في يناير- مارس، 2005م ونشرت حتى عام 2011م.

منذ بداية عام 2012م، تغير اسم النشرة إلى مجلة القانون الدولي لمنظمة آلكو. بغية توفير توجيهات لهيئة التحرير في مسائل المحتوى والسياسة، أنشأت منظمة آلكو "المجلس الاستشاري الدولي". ويضم المجلس الإستشاري الباحثين والممارسين القانونيين من منطقة آسيا وأفريقيا الذين قدموا اسهامتهم البارزة في مجال القانون الدولي. تحتوي مجلة القانون الدولي لمنظمة آلكو على مقالات الأكاديميين، والممارسين، والخبراء الحكوميين والطلاب حول العديد من الموضوعات القانونية في مجال القانون الدولي. وهو يتضمن أيضا فصلا عن التطورات الراهنة التي تناقش أهمية قانونية من الأحداث الهامة التي حدثت مؤخراً في مجال القانون الدولي. وكذلك تركز مجلة منظمة آلكو على المواضيع المحددة من حين إلى حين.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تجري الأمانة العامة "الدراسات الخاصة" بشكل منتظم حول المواضيع التي انتدبتها الدول الأعضاء في الدورات السنوية وتصدر التقارير بناءً على هذا البحث. وتشمل الدراسات الأخيرة "التنوع البيولوجي البحري خارج نطاق الولاية الوطنية: منظور أفريقي – آسيوي"، "العقوبات الأحادية والثانوية" و"دراسة حول دولة فلسطين بموجب القانون الدولي"



« Back

AALCO Logo

Asian-African Legal Consultative Organization (AALCO)

About AALCO

 


ASIAN-AFRICAN LEGAL CONSULTATIVE ORGANIZATION
(AALCO)

About AALCO

Information Brochure

A. Origin 

The Asian-African Legal Consultative Organization (AALCO), originally known as the Asian Legal Consultative Committee (ALCC), was constituted on 15 November 1956. It is considered to be a tangible outcome of the historic Bandung Conference, held in Indonesia, in April 1955. Seven Asian States, namely Burma (now Myanmar), Ceylon (now Sri Lanka), India, Indonesia, Iraq, Japan, and the United Arab Republic (now Arab Republic of Egypt and Syrian Arab Republic) are the original Member States. Later, in April 1958, in order to include participation of countries of the continent of Africa its name was changed to Asian-African Legal Consultative Committee (AALCC). At the Fortieth Annual Session, held at the Headquarters of AALCC in New Delhi, in 2001, the name of the Committee was changed to Asian-African Legal Consultative Organization (AALCO). It might seem to be a minor change in nomenclature. However, it has great symbolic significance reflecting the growing status of the Organization and the place it has secured among the family of international organizations.

B. Statutes and Statutory Rules of the Organization

Initially, AALCO was established as a non-permanent Committee for a term of five years. The five year term was further extended on four occasions until 1981, when at its Colombo Session, it was decided to place the Organization on a permanent footing. That decision necessitated revision of the original Statutes and Statutory Rules, the revised versions of which were adopted in 1987 and 1989 respectively. Alive to keeping the constituent instruments of the Organization in tune with the changing times and newer hopes and aspirations of its Members, the Member States, at  the Forty-Third Annual Session of the Organization at Bali, Republic of Indonesia, in June 2004 accorded their unanimous approval to a new and revised Text of Statutes. The new Text of Statutes is in consonance with the constituent instruments of other intergovernmental Organizations. Consequently, the Statutory Rules are also revised. 

C.     Member States

Forty-seven countries comprising almost all the major States from Asia and Africa are presently the Members of the Organization. These countries are: Arab Republic of Egypt; Bahrain; Bangladesh; Brunei Darussalam; Cameroon; Cyprus; Democratic People’s Republic of Korea; The Gambia; Ghana; India; Indonesia; Iraq; Islamic Republic of Iran; Japan; Jordan; Kenya; Kuwait; Lebanon; Libya; Malaysia; Mauritius; Mongolia; Myanmar; Nepal; Nigeria; Oman; Pakistan; People’s Republic of China; Qatar; Republic of Korea; Saudi Arabia; Senegal; Sierra Leone; Singapore; Somalia; South Africa, Sri Lanka; State of Palestine; Sudan; Syria; Tanzania; Thailand; Turkey; Uganda; United Arab Emirates; Socialist Republic of Vietnam and Republic of Yemen.

D. Procedure for Membership

Membership of the Organization is open to all Asian and African States desirous of participating in the Organization in accordance with its Statutes and Statutory Rules (Article 2(3) of the Statutes). Any such State desirous of membership has to address a written communication to the Secretary-General of the AALCO intimating its desire to participate in the Organization and stating its acceptance of the Statutes and Statutory Rules. The communication when received is circulated among the Member Governments with a request for submission of their comments within a period of six weeks. Unless objections are received from not less than one-third of the total membership of the Organization, the State concerned is thereafter declared admitted as a Member State.

E. Purposes and Objectives

The purposes and objectives of the Organization as stipulated in Article 1 of the Statutes is as under:

  • To serve as an advisory body to its Member States in the field of international law and as a forum for Asian-African co-operation in legal matters of common concern;
  • To consider and deliberate on issues related to international law that may be referred to the Organization by the Member States and to make such recommendations to governments as deemed necessary;
  • To exchange views, experiences and information on matters of common concern having legal implications and to make recommendations thereto if deemed necessary;
  • To communicate, with the consent of the governments of the Member States, the views of the Organization on matters of international law referred to it, to the United Nations, other institutions and international organizations;
  • To examine subjects that are under consideration by the International Law Commission and to forward the views of the Organization to the Commission; to consider the reports of the Commission and to make recommendations thereon, wherever necessary, the Member States; and
  • To undertake, with the consent of/or at the request of Member States, such activities as may be deemed appropriate for the fulfillment of the functions and purposes of the Organization.

The basic functions and purposes of the Organization as enlisted above give effect to the way in which subjects/topics were considered by the Organization and formed over the years the Work Programme of AALCO. Thus, there are three ways in which a matter is placed on the Work Programme of AALCO: (a) reference by a Member State; (b) Suo moto initiative of the Secretary-General; and (c) Follow-up of the work of the International Law Commission. In order to carry out these basic functions and purposes of the Organization, the Secretariat prepares a study on the topic, which forms the background material for deliberations at the Annual Sessions.

F. Annual Sessions of the Organization  

The plenary organ of the AALCO is its Annual Session (Article 4 of the Statutes). The Annual Sessions are usually hosted by a Member State on the basis of rotation between the two regional groups, Asia and Africa, to the extent possible. The Member-States are represented by high ranking diplomats and legal experts in the Annual Session. In addition, many Observer delegations representing governments and international organizations from across the globe participate in the deliberations. The Organization has been able to forge close links with the International Court of Justice (ICJ) and International Law Commission (ILC) over the years. It has become customary that judges of the ICJ and members of the ILC actively participate in the Organization’s Annual Sessions. Till date, fifty five such Annual Sessions have taken place. 

The Organization has been examining international law matters, which are being actively deliberated in the United Nations especially the International Law Commission and the Sixth Committee of the UN General Assembly.

Various topics covered over the years include: (The topics in Italics are on the current work programme of the Organization)  

(i) Topics on the agenda of the International Law Commission

(ii) International Economic Trade Law and related Matters

  • Immunities of States in respect of commercial transactions
  • Preparation of Standard/Model Contracts for use in international commodity transactions
  • Model bilateral agreements on promotion and protection of investments
  • Legal guidelines for privatization programs
  • Settlement of international commercial disputes
  • Electronic Commerce
  • WTO as an Agreement and a Code of Conduct for World Trade
  • Expressions of Folklore and its International Protection
  • Work of UNCITRAL and other International Organizations in the field of International Trade Law

(iii) Law of Treaties

  • Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties, 1969
  • Vienna Convention on the Succession of States in Respect of Treaties, 1978
  • Work relating to the Law of Treaties between States and International Organizations, 1986

(iv) Diplomatic Law 

  • The Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations, 1961
  • The Vienna Convention on Consular Relations
  • The Convention on Special Mission, 1969
  • The Vienna Convention on the Representation of States in their Relations with International Organizations of a Universal Character, 1975

(v) Oceans and Law of the Sea

  • Follow-up of developments on Oceans and the Law of the Sea
  • International Sea-Bed Authority
  • International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea
  • Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf

(vi) Human Rights, Refugees and International Humanitarian Law

·   Status and treatment of refugees

·   Bangkok Principles on the Status and Treatment of Refugees

·   Violation of International Law in Palestine and Other Occupied Territories by Israel and Other International Legal Issues related to the Question of Palestine

·   World Conference on Human Rights, Vienna, 1993

·   Human Rights in Islam

·   Legal Protection of Migrant Workers

·   Geneva Conventions of 1949 and Additional Protocols to the Conventions

·   Establishing Cooperation against trafficking in women and children

 (vii) Environment and Sustainable Development

  • United Nations Conference on Environment and Development, 1992
  • World Summit on Sustainable Development, 2002 
  • United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, 1992
  • Convention on Biological Diversity, 1992
  • Convention to Combat Desertification, 1994

( viii ) International Criminal Law  

·    International Criminal Court: Recent Developments

·    International Corruption

·    Transnational Organized Crime

·    Violent Extremism and Terrorism (Legal Aspects)

(ix) Other Topics

  • United Nations Decade of International Law
  • Status and Treatment of Aliens
  • Dual or Multiple Nationality
  • Legality of Nuclear Tests
  • Mutual Co-operation on Judicial Assistance
  • Extra territorial Application of National Legislation: Sanctions Imposed Against Third Parties
  • Jurisdictional Immunities of States and their Property
  • International Law in Cyberspace

G. Permanent Headquarters of the AALCO

Pursuant to the Headquarters Agreement between the Government of India and AALCO which was signed on 26 April 2000, New Delhi is the seat of the Permanent Headquarters of AALCO (Article 2(1) of the Statutes). The Headquarters is located in Diplomatic Enclave, Chanakyapuri in New Delhi.  

H. Secretariat

The Secretariat of the Organization is located at its Permanent Headquarters in New Delhi and is headed by an elected Secretary-General (Article 3 of the Statutes). The present Secretary-General, Professor Dr. Kennedy Gastorn, is from Tanzania. Deputy Secretaries-General and Assistant Secretaries-General who are senior officers of Member Governments sent on secondment assist the Secretary-General. Presently, the Governments of People’s Republic of China, Islamic Republic of Iran, and Japan have deputed their senior officials to the Secretariat. The regular staff of the Secretariat includes officers in professional and administrative categories. The Organization also maintains Permanent Observer Missions to the United Nations at New York and Vienna.

I. Co-operation with the United Nations, its Agencies and other International Organizations

The AALCO’s activities have been broadened from time to time to keep pace with the needs and requirements of its Member Governments. This is especially true in the fields of international trade law matters and economic relations. The AALCO, as the only intergovernmental organization representing Asia and Africa, has also oriented its activities to complement the work of the United Nations in several areas. Acknowledging Organization’s growing status and functions, the UN General Assembly by a Resolution, adopted at its thirty-fifth Session in 1980 decided to accord AALCO Permanent Observer Status at the United Nations.  Following that, an item on “Co-operation between the United Nations and the Asian-African Legal Consultative Organization” is placed biannually on the agenda of the UN General Assembly.  The Organization has established close relations with the United Nations, its Agencies and several intergovernmental Organizations and concluded formal co-operation agreements with many of them (Article 6 of the Statutes).  These include: United Nations (UN), International Maritime Organization (IMO), United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO), International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), United Nations University (UNU), United Nations Institute for Training and Research (UNITAR), Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR), International Organization for Migration (IOM), International Committee of the Red Cross  (ICRC), League of Arab States, Commonwealth Secretariat, Council of Europe, the Hague Conference of  Private International Law and the Organization of African Unity (OAU) now known as the African Union (AU). These agreements provide for mutual consultation, exchange of documentation, representation and organization of joint meetings.

It may be emphasized that these co-operation agreements provide useful basis for organizing joint meetings and seminars on topics of mutual interest to these Organizations. They provide the funds for the participation of the resource persons and experts, who substantially enrich the deliberations at the AALCO meetings. 

Every year, a Meeting of AALCO’s Legal Advisers is convened in New York, during the UN General Assembly Session. Legal Advisers of Non-Member States and representatives of United Nations and its Agencies also attend this Meeting.

J. Finances

The Organization’s finances are met primarily from three sources, namely (i) the annual budget to which contributions are made by all Member States; (ii) voluntary contributions including contribution in the form of deputation of officers; and (iii) special budget for specific purpose such as for the Arabic Fund. 

All Member States are committed to contribute towards the annual budget, which is shared on the basis of an agreed formula. The contributions based are on a scale related to the economic situation of each Member State. The Member States from Arabic speaking countries also make an additional contribution towards the Arabic budget, which goes towards translation of documents into Arabic and for interpretation during the Annual Session. All other contributions are on a voluntary basis.

K. AALCO’s Regional Arbitration Centres

One of the major achievements of AALCO in its programme in the economic field was the launching of its Integrated Scheme for Settlement of Disputes in the Economic and Commercial Transactions in 1978. Pursuant to that Scheme, it was decided to establish Regional Arbitration Centres under the auspices of AALCO, which would function as international institutions with the objectives to promote international commercial arbitration in the Asian-African regions and provide for conducting international arbitrations under these Centres.   

Five such Centres have been established so far, which are located at Cairo (Arab Republic of Egypt), Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia), Lagos (Nigeria), Tehran (Islamic Republic of Iran) and Nairobi (Kenya). The respective hosts Governments recognize their independent status like an international organization and have accorded privileges and immunities to these Centres. 

AALCO provides its expertise and assistance to its Member States in the appointment of arbitrators and other matters related to the conduct of arbitration. Its centers provide the opportunities for training of arbitrators as well. The Directors of the Centres present their reports on the functioning of the Centres at the Annual Sessions. 

L. Training Facility

AALCO Secretariat provides facilities for training of officials from the Member States engaged in international law matters. It can be through short-term attachment with the Secretariat or participating in the training course organized by the Secretariat. At AALCO’s Forty-First Session held in Abuja in July 2002, it was decided to rename the Data Collection Unit in the Secretariat as the Centre for Research and Training. The activities of the Centre, besides research on international law matters, include expanding the training facilities in the Secretariat with a view to disseminate information on its activities and the recent developments in international law, AALCO’s website has been greatly improved. All important documents and reports of AALCO have been placed on its website: http://www.aalco.int (English and Arabic versions are available). 

M. Legal Assistance

AALCO is committed to extend to its Member States legal assistance in drafting Model Legislations or draft Constitutions or Bilateral Agreements upon the request of any Member States.

N. Publications

The Secretariat publishes reports of AALCO’s Annual Sessions and Seminars and other meetings convened under its auspices from time to time. The first issue of the “Yearbook of the Asian-African Legal Consultative Organization” was brought out in 2004, in a different form and format. It maintains continuity with the earlier editions of the Report. 

With a view to contributing towards a better knowledge and understanding of international law, which can influence the discourse of the global policy debates, AALCO has been publishing “Quarterly Bulletin” since 1976. In the year 1997 its name and periodicity were changed to “AALCO Bulletin” brought out bi-annually, till the year 2001. The Secretariat felt the need to restructure the format and mode of this publication and after careful discussions and study, a totally overhauled publication in the new title, i.e.; “AALCO Quarterly Bulletin” was launched by with Volume 1, Issue No. 1 dated January-March, 2005 and was published until 2011.  

Beginning from 2012, the name of the Bulletin was changed to AALCO Journal of International Law. To provide guidance to the editorial board on matters of content and policy, AALCO established an “International Advisory Board”. The Advisory Board is composed of scholars and legal practitioners from the Asian-African region who have made outstanding contributions to international law. The AALCO Journal of International Law contains articles by academicians, practitioners, government experts, and students, on a wide range of legal topics within the field of international law. It also incorporates a section on current developments that discuss the legal significance of important recent events in international law. From time-to-time the AALCO Journal also focuses on specific themes. 

Further, the Secretariat regularly conducts “Special Studies” on the topics mandated by the Member States in Annual Sessions and releases reports based on such research. The most recent studies include “Marine Biodiversity Beyond National Jurisdiction: An Asian African  Perspective”, “Unilateral and Secondary Sanctions” and “A Study on the Statehood of Palestine under International Law”.



« Back