AALCO MEMBERS FROM ASIA ---> Kingdom of Bahrain Republic of Bangladesh Brunei Darussalam People's Republic of China Republic of Cyprus India Republic of Indonesia Islamic Republic of Iran Republic of Iraq Japan Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan State of Kuwait Lebanon Malaysia Mongolia Union of Myanmar Nepal DPR Korea Sultanate of Oman Pakistan State of Qatar Republic of Korea Kingdom of Saudi Arabia Singapore Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka State of Palestine Republic of Philippines Syrian Arab Republic Thailand Republic of Turkey United Arab Emirates Republic of Yemen Socialist Republic of Vietnam   AALCO MEMBERS FROM AFRICA ---> Arab Republic of Egypt Republic of Cameroon Republic of The Gambia Republic of Ghana Kenya Libya Mauritius Federal Republic of Nigeria Republic of Senegal Sierra Leone Republic of Somalia Republic of South Africa Republic of Sudan United Republic of Tanzania Uganda

Signing of the Memorandum of Understanding between AALCO and the Energy Charter Secretariat

Signing of the Memorandum of Understanding between AALCO and the Energy Charter Secretariat

On 21 November 2018, a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was signed between the Asian-African Legal Consultative Organization (AALCO) and the Energy Charter Secretariat (ECS). The signing ceremony took place during the Seminar on “Reviewing International Reforms to the Investment Regime and to the Investor-State Dispute Settlement Mechanism: Perspectives from the Asian-African Regions”, held on 19 – 21 November 2018 at the International Conference Centre in Arusha, United Republic of Tanzania.

H.E. Prof. Dr. Kennedy Gastorn, Secretary-General, AALCO, signed the MoU on behalf of the AALCO Secretariat. On behalf of Dr. Urban Rusnák, Secretary-General of the ECS, Dr. Alejandro Carballo, General Counsel of the ECS, attended the ceremony. The terms of this MoU resonate the goodwill of the Organizations to strengthen capacities to address legal challenges faced by the Member States, and aspire to usher in an era of collaborative undertakings between the two Secretariats.

Memorandum of Understanding

Energy Charter

Signing of the Memorandum of Understanding